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Notice Pursuant to Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 § 6032 
 
I. Policy  
 
It is the policy of the New York State Office of Mental Health (OMH) that all associates, 
including employees, contractors, vendors, consultants and agents who provide health care 
services or perform billing and coding functions shall comply with all applicable Federal and 
New York State false claims laws and regulations and whistleblower protections. As a part 
of the OMH Compliance program, New York State employees and others receive training 
on these laws, which are summarized below, and should consult with the OMH Compliance 
Officer if they have any questions about the application of these laws to their job. 
 
OMH also provides this notice to its contractors and agents in order to comply with Section 
6032 of the Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005, which requires health care entities receiving 
$5 million or more in Medicaid reimbursement during a federal fiscal year to establish written 
policies and procedures informing their employees, contractors and agents about federal 
and state false claim acts and whistleblower protections. OMH’s Medicaid Compliance 
Policy and Procecure is available on the OMH website. 
 
For purposes of Section 6032, contractors not associated with the provision of Medicaid 
health care items or services, such as copy or shredding services, grounds maintenance, 
or hospital cafeteria or gift shop services, are excluded from the definition of contractor and 
are not required to receive and review this Notice.  

 
The information in this Notice is intended to highlight certain wrongful “false claims” activity 
that federal and state governments have specifically targeted in the healthcare profession 
and the laws that govern such wrongful activity. If you are receiving this notice as contractor 
or agent of OMH, you are required to communicate this information to your own employees, 
contractors and agents.  
 
All OMH contractors, agents and vendors who are required to receive this Notice are 
responsible for reporting to OMH any suspected violations of the false claims laws, fraud, 
waste, or abuse, any other suspected unlawful conduct or violations of OMH policies, 
including the OMH Compliance Policy and Procedure. OMH encourages the reporting of 
suspected violations to the OMH Medicaid Compliance Officer at 518.486.9821 or 
Compliance@omh.ny.gov.  
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II. Federal & New York Laws Relating to Filing False Claims 
 

 A. Federal Laws 
 
 1. False Claims Act (31 USC § 3729 et seq.) 

 
 The False Claims Act (“FCA”) provides, in pertinent part, that: 

 
1) any person who (A) knowingly presents, or causes to be presented, a false or 
fraudulent claim for payment or approval;  (B) knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be 
made or used, a false record or statement material to a false or fraudulent claim; (C) 
conspires to commit [the above violations];  . . . or (G) knowingly makes, uses, or 
causes to be made or used, a false record or statement material to an obligation to 
pay or transmit money or property to the Government, or knowingly conceals or 
knowingly and improperly avoids or decreases an obligation to pay or transmit money 
or property to the Government, is liable to the United States Government for a civil 
penalty of not less than $5,000 and not more than $10,000,1 plus 3 times the amount 
of damages which the Government sustains because of the act of that person . . . . 
 
(b) For purposes of this section, 
 
(1) the terms “knowing” and “knowingly” (A) mean that a person, with respect to 
information-- (i) has actual knowledge of the information; (ii) acts in deliberate 
ignorance of the truth or falsity of the information; or (iii) acts in reckless disregard of 
the truth or falsity of the information; and (B) require no proof of specific intent to 
defraud; and 
 
(2) the term “claim” (A) means any request or demand, whether under a contract or 
otherwise, for money or property and whether or not the United States has title to the 
money or property, that-- (i) is presented to an officer, employee, or agent of the United 
States; or  (ii) is made to a contractor, grantee, or other recipient, if the money or 
property is to be spent or used on the Government’s behalf or to advance a 
Government program or interest, and if the United States Government (I) provides or 
has provided any portion of the money or property requested or demanded; or (II) will 
reimburse such contractor, grantee, or other recipient for any portion of the money or 
property which is requested or demanded; and 
 
(3) the term “obligation” means an established duty, whether or not fixed, arising from 
an express or implied contractual, grantor-grantee, or licensor-licensee relationship, 
from a fee-based or similar relationship, from statute or regulation, or from the retention 
of any overpayment; and 
 
(4) the term “material” means having a natural tendency to influence, or be capable of 
influencing, the payment or receipt of money or property. 

                                                           
1 Although the statutory provisions of the False Claims Act authorize a range of penalties of from between 
$5,000 and $10,000, those amounts have been adjusted for inflation and increased by regulation to not less 
than $10-781 and not more than $21,563. 28 CFR § 85.3(a)(9). 
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While the False Claims Act imposes liability only when the claimant acts “knowingly,” it does 
not require that the person submitting the claim have actual knowledge that the claim is false. 
A person, who acts in reckless disregard or in deliberate ignorance of the truth or falsity of 
the information, also can be found liable under the Act. 31 U.S.C. 3729(b). 

 
In sum, the False Claims Act imposes liability on any person who submits a claim to the 
federal government or a contractor of the federal government that he or she knows (or should 
know) is false. An example may be a physician who submits a bill to Medicare for medical 
services she knows she has not provided. The False Claims Act also imposes liability on an 
individual who may knowingly submit a false record in order to obtain payment from the 
government. An example of this may include a government contractor who submits records 
that he knows (or should know) is false and that indicate compliance with certain contractual 
or regulatory requirements. The third area of liability includes those instances in which 
someone may obtain money from the federal government to which he may not be entitled, 
and then uses false statements or records in order to retain the money. An example of this 
so-called “reverse false claim” may include a healthcare facility that obtains interim payments 
from Medicare throughout the year, and then knowingly files a false cost report at the end of 
the year in order to avoid making a refund to the Medicare or Medicaid program. 
 
In addition to its substantive provisions, the FCA provides that private parties may bring an 
action on behalf of the United States.  31 U.S.C. § 3730 (b). These private parties, known as 
“qui tam relators,” may share in a percentage of the proceeds from an FCA action or 
settlement. 
 
Section 3730(d)(1) of the FCA provides, with some exceptions, that a qui tam relator, when 
the government has intervened in the lawsuit, shall receive at least 15 percent but not more 
than 25 percent of the proceeds of the FCA action depending upon the extent to which the 
relator substantially contributed to the prosecution of the action. When the government does 
not intervene, section 3730(d)(2) provides that the relator shall receive an amount that the 
court decides is reasonable and shall be not less than 25 percent and not more than 30 
percent. 

 
 2. The Program Fraud Civil Remedies Act (31 USC §§ 3801, 3802) 

 
This Federal statute allows for administrative recoveries by federal agencies. If a person 
submits a claim that the person knows is false or contains false information, or omits material 
information, then the agency receiving the claim may impose a penalty of up to $5,000 for 
each claim. The agency may also recover twice the amount of the claim. 

 
Unlike the False Claims Act, a violation of this law occurs when a false claim is submitted, not 
when it is paid. Also unlike the False Claims Act, the determination of whether a claim is false, 
and the imposition of fines and penalties is made by the administrative agency, not by 
prosecution in the federal court system. 
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B. New York State Laws 
 

New York State False Claim Laws fall under the jurisdiction of both New York’s civil and 
administrative laws as well as its criminal laws. Some apply to recipient false claims and 
some apply to provider false claims. Most of these statutes are specific to healthcare or 
Medicaid. Yet some other crimes that apply to areas of interaction with the government and 
are also applicable to health care fraud and will be listed in this section. 

 
  1. Civil and Administrative Laws 
 
   a. New York False Claims Act 
 
The New York False Claims Act is similar to the Federal False Claims Act. It imposes 
penalties and fines upon individuals and entities who knowingly file false or fraudulent 
claims for payment from any state or local government, including health care programs 
such as Medicaid. It also has a provision regarding reverse false claims similar to the 
federal FCA such that a person or entity will be liable in those instances in which the 
person obtains money from a state or local government to which he may not be entitled, 
and then uses false statements or records in order to retain the money. 
 
The penalty for filing a false claim is six to twelve thousand dollars per claim plus three 
times the amount of the damages which the state or local government sustains because 
of the act of that person. In addition, a person who violates this act is liable for costs, 
including attorneys’ fees, of a civil action brought to recover any such penalty. 
 
The Act allows private individuals to file lawsuits in state court, just as if they were state 
or local government parties, subject to various possible limitations imposed by the NYS 
Attorney General or a local government. If the suit eventually concludes with payments 
back to the government, the person who started the case can recover twenty-five to 
thirty percent of the proceeds if the government did not participate in the suit, or fifteen 
to twenty-five percent if the government did participate in the suit. 
 
   b. Social Services Law, Section 145-b - False Statements 
 
It is a violation to knowingly obtain or attempt to obtain payment for items or services 
furnished under any Social Services program, including Medicaid, by use of a false 
statement, deliberate concealment or other fraudulent scheme or device. The State or 
the local Social Services district may recover three times the amount incorrectly paid. In 
addition, the Department of Health may impose a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per 
violation. If repeat violations occur within 5 years, a penalty up to $30,000 per violation 
may be imposed if they involve more serious violations of Medicaid rules, billing for 
services not rendered or providing excessive services. 
 
   c. Social Services Law §145-c - Sanctions 
 
If any person applies for or receives public assistance, including Medicaid, by 
intentionally making a false or misleading statement, or intending to do so, the needs of 
the individual or that of his family shall not be taken into account for the purpose of 
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determining his or her needs or that of his family for six months if a first offense, for 
twelve months if a second offense (or if benefits wrongfully received are at least one 
thousand dollars but not more than three thousand nine hundred dollars), for eighteen 
months if a third offense (or if benefits wrongfully received are in excess of three 
thousand nine hundred dollars), and five years for any subsequent occasion of any such 
offense. 
 
  2. Criminal Laws 
 

a. Social Services Law §145 - Penalties 
 
Any person who submits false statements or deliberately conceals material information 
in order to receive public assistance, including Medicaid, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 

b. Social Services Law § 366-b - Penalties for Fraudulent Practices 
 

i. Any person who obtains or attempts to obtain, for himself or others, medical 
assistance by means of a false statement, concealment of material facts, 
impersonation or other fraudulent means is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. 

 
ii. Any person who, with intent to defraud, presents for payment any false or 

fraudulent claim for furnishing services, knowingly submits false information to 
obtain greater Medicaid compensation or knowingly submits false information in 
order to obtain authorization to provide items or services is guilty of a Class A 
misdemeanor. 

 
c. Penal Law Article 155, Larceny 

 
The crime of larceny applies to a person who, with intent to deprive another of his 
property, obtains, takes or withholds the property by means of trick, embezzlement, false 
pretense, false promise, including a scheme to defraud, or other similar behavior. It has 
been applied to Medicaid fraud cases. 
 

i. Fourth degree grand larceny involves property valued over $1,000. It is a Class 
E felony. 

 
ii. Third degree grand larceny involves property valued over $3,000. It is a Class D 

felony. 
 

iii. Second degree grand larceny involves property valued over $50,000. It is a 
Class C felony. 

 
iv. First degree grand larceny involves property valued over $1 million. It is a Class 

B felony. 
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d. Penal Law Article 175, False Written Statements 
 
Four crimes in this Article relate to filing false information or claims and have been 
applied in Medicaid fraud prosecutions: 
 

i. §175.05, Falsifying business records involves entering false information, 
omitting material information or altering an enterprise’s business records with 
the intent to defraud. It is a Class A misdemeanor. 

 
ii. § 175.10, Falsifying business records in the first degree includes the elements 

of the §175.05 offense and includes the intent to commit another crime or 
conceal its commission. It is a Class E felony. 

 
iii. §175.30, Offering a false instrument for filing in the second degree involves 

presenting a written instrument (including a claim for payment) to a public office 
knowing that it contains false information. It is a Class A misdemeanor. 

 
iv. §175.35, Offering a false instrument for filing in the first degree includes the 

elements of the second degree offense and must include an intent to defraud 
the state or a political subdivision. It is a Class E felony. 

 
e. Penal Law Article 176 - Insurance Fraud 

 
Applies to claims for insurance payment, including Medicaid or other health insurance 
and contains six crimes. 
 

i. Insurance Fraud in the 5th degree involves intentionally filing a health insurance 
claim knowing that it is false. It is a Class A misdemeanor. 

 
ii. Insurance fraud in the 4th degree is filing a false insurance claim for over $1,000. 

It is a Class E felony. 
 

iii. Insurance fraud in the 3rd degree is filing a false insurance claim for over $3,000. 
It is a Class D felony. 

 
iv. Insurance fraud in the 2nd degree is filing a false insurance claim for over 

$50,000. It is a Class C felony. 
 

v. Insurance fraud in the 1st degree is filing a false insurance claim for over $1 
million. It is a Class B felony. 

 
vi. Aggravated insurance fraud is committing insurance fraud more than once. It is 

a Class D felony. 
 

f. Penal Law Article 177 - Health Care Fraud 
 
This statute, enacted in 2006, applies to health care fraud crimes. It was designed to 
address the specific conduct by health care providers who defraud the system including 



7  

any publicly or privately funded health insurance or managed care plan or contract, 
under which any health care item or service is provided. Medicaid is considered to be a 
single health plan under this statute. This law primarily applies to claims by providers for 
insurance payment, including Medicaid payment, and it includes five crimes: 
 

i. Health care fraud in the 5th degree is knowingly filing, with intent to defraud, a 
claim for payment that intentionally has false information or omissions. It is a 
Class A misdemeanor. 

 
ii. Health care fraud in the 4th degree is filing false claims and annually receiving 

over $3,000 in aggregate. It is a Class E felony. 
 

iii. Health care fraud in the 3rd degree is filing false claims and annually receiving 
over $10,000 in the aggregate. It is a Class D felony. 

 
iv. Health care fraud in the 2nd degree is filing false claims and annually receiving 

over $50,000 in the aggregate. It is a Class C felony. 
 

v. Health care fraud in the 1st degree is filing false claims and annually receiving 
over $1 million in the aggregate. It is a Class B felony. 

 
 

III.  Whistleblower Protections 
 

A. Federal False Claims Act (31 U.S.C. § 3730(h)) 
 

The Federal False Claims Act (FCA) provides protection to qui tam relators (individuals who 
commence a False Claims action) who are discharged, demoted, suspended, threatened, 
harassed, or in any other manner discriminated against in the terms and conditions of their 
employment as a result of their furtherance of an action under the FCA. 31 U.S.C. § 3730(h). 
Remedies include reinstatement with comparable seniority as the qui tam relator would have 
had but for the discrimination, two times the amount of any back pay, interest on any back pay, 
and compensation for any special damages sustained as a result of the discrimination, 
including litigation costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees. 
 

B. Pilot Program for Enhancement of Employee Whistleblower Protections 
 (41 U.S.C. § 4712) 

 
This statute applies to all employees working for contractors, grantees, subcontractors and 
subgrantees of Federal contracts and grants. It provides protections for employees who 
disclose information that the employee reasonably believes is evidence of gross 
mismanagement of a Federal contract or grant, a gross waste of Federal funds, an abuse of 
authority relating to a Federal contract or grant, a specific danger to public health or safety, 
or a violation of law, rule, or regulations related to a Federal contract or grant. The statute 
provides that employees who make such disclosures may not be discharged, demoted or 
otherwise discriminated against if the disclosure is made to one of the following: 

 

• A member of Congress or a representative of a committee of Congress 
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• An Inspector General 

• The Government Accountability Office 

• A Federal employee responsible for contract or grant oversight or management 
at the relevant agency 

• An authorized official of the Department of Justice or other law enforcement 
agency 

• A court or grand jury 

• A management official or other employee of the contractor, subcontractor, or 
grantee who has responsibility to investigate, discover, or address misconduct. 

 
Any employee who believes he or she has been subjected to retaliation as stated above may 
submit a complaint to the Inspector General of the governmental agency involved. The 
employee will have all rights and remedies afforded by Federal law. 

 
C. New York State False Claims Act (State Finance Law § 191) 

 
The New York State False Claims Act also provides protection to qui tam relators (individuals 
who commence a False Claims action) who are discharged, demoted, suspended, 
threatened, harassed, or in any other manner discriminated against in the terms and 
conditions of their employment as a result of their furtherance of an action under the Act. 
Remedies include reinstatement with comparable seniority as the qui tam relator would 
have had but for the discrimination, two times the amount of any back pay, interest on any 
back pay, and compensation for any special damages sustained as a result of the 
discrimination, including litigation costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees. 
 

D. New York State Labor Law § 740 
 

An employer may not take any retaliatory action against an employee if the employee 
discloses information about the employer’s policies, practices or activities to a regulatory, 
law enforcement or other similar agency or public official. Protected disclosures are those 
that assert that the employer is in violation of a law that creates a substantial and specific 
danger to the public health and safety or which constitutes health care fraud under Penal 
Law § 177 (knowingly filing, with intent to defraud, a claim for payment that intentionally 
has false information or omissions). The employee’s disclosure is protected only if the 
employee first brought up the matter with a supervisor and gave the employer a reasonable 
opportunity to correct the alleged violation. If an employer takes a retaliatory action against 
the employee, the employee may sue in state court for reinstatement to the same, or an 
equivalent position, any lost back wages and benefits and attorneys’ fees. If the employer 
is a health provider and the court finds that the employer’s retaliatory action was in bad 
faith, it may impose a civil penalty of $10,000 on the employer. Consolidated Laws of the 
State of New York, Labor  (LAB) 
 

E. New York State Labor Law § 741 
 

A health care employer may not take any retaliatory action against an employee if the 
employee discloses certain information about the employer’s policies, practices or activities 
to a regulatory, law enforcement or other similar agency or public official. Protected 
disclosures are those that assert that, in good faith, the employee believes constitute 

http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/LAWSSEAF.cgi?QUERYTYPE=LAWS%2B&amp;QUERYDATA=%40SLLAB0A20-C%2B&amp;LIST=LAW%2B&amp;BROWSER=EXPLORER%2B&amp;TOKEN=56065939%2B&amp;TARGET=VIEW
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/LAWSSEAF.cgi?QUERYTYPE=LAWS%2B&amp;QUERYDATA=%40SLLAB0A20-C%2B&amp;LIST=LAW%2B&amp;BROWSER=EXPLORER%2B&amp;TOKEN=56065939%2B&amp;TARGET=VIEW
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/LAWSSEAF.cgi?QUERYTYPE=LAWS%2B&amp;QUERYDATA=%40SLLAB0A20-C%2B&amp;LIST=LAW%2B&amp;BROWSER=EXPLORER%2B&amp;TOKEN=56065939%2B&amp;TARGET=VIEW
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improper quality of patient care. The employee’s disclosure is protected only if the employee 
first brought up the matter with a supervisor and gave the employer a reasonable opportunity 
to correct the alleged violation, unless the danger is imminent to the public or patient and 
the employee believes in good faith that reporting to a supervisor would not result in 
corrective action. If an employer takes a retaliatory action against the employee, the 
employee may sue in state court for reinstatement to the same, or an equivalent position, 
any lost back wages and benefits and attorneys’ fees. If the employer is a health provider 
and the court finds that the employer’s retaliatory action was in bad faith, it may impose a 
civil penalty of $10,000 on the employer. 


