Skip to Main Content

Office of Mental Health

Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC)

What is a CCBHC?

The purpose of a CCBHC is to:

CCBHCs must directly provide or contract with Designated Collaborating Organizations (DCOs) to provide 9 required types of core services***:

*CCBHC must directly provide
**May be provided by CCBHC and/or DCO
***CCBHC demonstration services must be provided to all clients regardless of their catchment area and/or ability to pay, both within and outside of the clinic setting

Full descriptions of the 9 core services can be found in the CCBHC Scope of Services Manual or in the CCBHC MCO Operations Manual on pages 3-52.

SAMHSA has updated their CCBHC Certification Criteria and will be in effect July 1, 2024 (CCBHC Certification Criteria Updated March 2023). The CCBHC Scope of Services Manual will be updated accordingly to reflect those changes.

Additional information about the CCBHC demonstration can be found at The National Council for Mental Wellbeing.

Learn More about New York State’s CCBHC Program:

New York States CCBHC Demonstration Timeline

CCBHC Prospective Payment System (PPS)

CCBHC Quality Data Reporting

CCBHC Data Sharing with Managed Care Organizations (MCOs)


Further questions about data, oversight, and document accessibility may be submitted to the NYS Office of Mental Health CCBHC Mailbox.